DEER DU BOIS playlist #206: Ruuth, otta, GEMS, Vasser, Amber-Simone…

Every Wednesday on HighClouds, we share the much-awaited and surprising playlist of our Brussels‘ friend, tastemaker and collaborator: sir Deer Du Bois.

With this Deer Du Bois new playlist, we put the soul back into pop.

With Moir, we literally dive in an emotional ballad called “You Have Soul” and oh yes, we do have soul! Honest pop songs don’t come easy, but Summer Heart goes straight for it and tells us “I Got This Thing For You.” One thing GEMS can’t hide is their beautiful new single “Crippled Inside.”

German islander Ruuth is a fast rising newcomer with her refreshing sound and vocals on debut track “All About.”

The most colorful debut in this playlist must be Lillian Frances, who serves her experimental synth pop with Californian summer flair on “Better, Worse.” Just as sunny, Amber-Simone pushes us to shake it off on “Trashed My Heart” and we get turned upside down until the “small hours” with the delicate otta‘s song.

Von Sell already knew how to please us before with his music, but on his latest release “Digital Sleep,” he proves how his angelic, falsetto vocals lift his songs even higher into stardom. Lastly, Refs captivate with a song for all those who have ever tried to drink, smoke, or fuck away the inevitable.

If you want to drink a bit more until you get tipsy, you should check him on Facebook and Soundcloud, and follow his regular posts on our site.

Leave a Reply