M83 announce new LP “Junk”, share new single “Do It, Try It”

M83 Do It Try It

We already knew that the French synth-pop band M83 were ready to give a follow-up to their 2011’s album “Hurry Up, We’Re Dreaming”. Now things get more concrete with the announcement of this upcoming seventh LP “Junk”. The release is planned for April 8 on Naïve/Mute. And in order to make you wait, Annie Mac just premiered the amazing first single titled “Do It, Try It”.

Back in December, Gonzalez noted on Stereogum that he was inspired by 1970s and 1980s television shows such as Punky Brewster and Who’s the Boss?, stating, “I feel like TV shows are starting to sound and look the same. There’s no more passion anymore. So this album is a tribute to those old-fashioned shows.” You can hear this retro and psyche sound in the piano riff that goes all over the song but also in the powerful chorus the band has the secret of.

In a press release, he also declared: “Anything we create today is going to end up being space junk at one point anyway, and I find it really fascinating and scary at the same time – beautiful too in a way. I have this image of pieces of humanity floating in space, lost forever. It also means that nowadays everything goes so fast and everybody is kind of throwing away art in a certain manner. People will listen to an album for instance and just pick a track they like to put on a playlist. They’re not going to take the time to listen to an album anymore because they have to jump on the next thing.”


Tracklisting of “Junk”:
01 Do It, Try It
02 Go! [ft. Mai Lan] 03 Walkway Blues [ft. Jordan Lawlor] 04 Bibi the Dog [ft. Mai Lan] 05 Moon Crystal
06 For the Kids [ft. Susanne Sundfør] 07 Solitude
08 The Wizard
09 Laser Gun [ft. Mai Lan] 10 Road Blaster
11 Tension
12 Atlantique Sud [ft. Mai Lan] 13 Time Wind [ft. Beck] 14 Ludivine
15 Sunday Night 1987

You can check if the band will be playing near you soon here.

Comments (1):

Leave a Reply