Porches announces new album with cowbell-driven single “Do U Wanna”

“Do U Wanna” is taken from Porches‘ upcoming fourth album, Ricky Music, due out March 13 on Domino.

Last year, Aaron Maine, aka Porches, made his return with his Dev Hynes-assisted track “rangerover.” The New York-based singer-songwriter and producer has now announced a full album, Ricky Music, which will feature the previously released single as bonus track as well as his brand new song, “Do U Wanna.” Featuring contributions for the likes of Zsela and Jacob Portrait, the album was written and recorded between Dec 2017 and the spring of 2019.

About Ricky Music, Maine detailed:

This record is an account of the beauty, confusion, anger, joy and sadness I experienced during that time. I think I was as lost as I was madly in love. In these songs I hear myself sometimes desperate for clarity, and other times, having enough perspective to laugh at myself in some of my darkest moments.

The lead single, “Do U Wanna,” is a self-reflection driven by throbbing cowbells. “It a song about looking at yourself and realizing the disparity between how you’d like to act and how you actually act,” he explained. “The fun you vs. the isolated you. I feel like with the refrain I’m almost taunting myself to get up and do something.” In the visuals, which were directed by Nick Harwood, Maine ends up dancing a slow with his shrink. Watch and pre-order the album via Bandcamp below.

Porches – “Ricky Music”:

01 “Patience”

02 “Do U Wanna”

03 “Lipstick Song”

04 “PFB”

05 “I Wanna Ride”

06 “Madonna”

07 “I Can’t Even Think”

08 “Hair”

09 “Fuck_3″

10 “Wrote Some Songs”

11 “rangerover” (bonus track)

Leave a Reply