Weaves – Candy


For those who don’t know yet the wild Canadian quartet Weaves, it is time to update yourself before everything trembles! Because the least we can say is that the band, which describe its music as “bent pop”, is taking off! After the uplifting lead single “One More”, which had the energy of Blur‘s smash-hit “Song 2” but without the clumsy vibes, the band just unveiled another track from their upcoming self-titled debut LP, that will be out on June 17 via Kanine in the USA, Buzz for the Canada & Memphis Industries for the rest of the world. Discover “Candy” below!

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/257691631″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Here what the vocalist Jasmyn Burke told Stereogum about the track:

Candy is one of the first tracks to be written on the record and I remember there was an immediate excitement that came after demoing it with just Morgan and myself in his room. It’s impulsive and almost too much, but definitely one we’re most proud of as a band.

Lyrically it felt really sweet tasting in my brain. Like a bright pink piece of cake filled with candy. Very rambunctious in a way. Living life just like a pie, sweeter in the seams, ya know? Life is sometimes rough but you can hit that sweet spot and I wanted to try and write that down. Fantasizing about a way to live and behave and hoping everyone is one board to join in the fruitful haze.

Here is the tracklisting of their self-titled LP “Weaves”:

01. Tick
02. Birds & Bees
03. Candy
04. Shithole
05. Eagle
06. Two Oceans
07. Human
08. Coo Coo
09. Sentence
10. One More
11. Stress

And as a bonus, rediscover “One More”:

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/248418200″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Leave a Reply