Drag indie rocker Cindy Lee announces new album, shares “Heavy Metal”

“Heavy Metal” is taken from Cindy Lee‘s upcoming album, What’s Tonight to Eternity, due out February 14, 2020.

For a decade, Patrick Flegel, the former frontman of Canadian art-rock band Women, has been releasing music with their drag queen ‘confrontation pop’ project Cindy Lee. Next year, on Valentine’s day, they’ll release a brand new album, What’s Tonight to Eternity, which was inspired, amongst others, by singer and drummer Karen Carpenter (from The Carpenters). “I found a deep interest and comfort in her story, which is a cautionary tale about the monstrosity of show business, stardom at a young age, and being a misfit looking for connection,” explains Flegel. “The darkness and victimizing tabloid sensationalism she suffered, which is easily tempered and overwhelmed by her earnest output, her artistry, her tireless work ethic. Something utterly unique and magical takes shape in the negative space, out of exclusion. What I relate to in her mainly has a lot to do with her output and what is unknown about her, how much she kept hidden to herself while having this public profile.”

The album will also explore queer identity and gender expression. It also draws upon the work of classic singers such as Patsy Cline and the Supremes. The 60s girl group’s harmonies are already palpable in the lead single and closing track “Heavy Metal”. The melancholic song is a tribute to late Women member Chris Reimer, who passed away in 2012 at the age of 26. Listen and pre-order the album via Bandcamp below.

Cindy Lee – “What’s Tonight to Eternity” tracklist:

01 Plastic Raincoat

02 I Want You to Suffer

03 The Limit

04 What’s Tonight to Eternity

05 One Second to Toe the Line

06 Lucifer Stand

07 Speaking From Above

08 Just for Loving You I Pay the Price

09 Heavy Metal

Leave a Reply