Jordan Rakei- Blame It On the Youth

Soulful R&B artist” doesn’t quite fit into Jordan Rakei’s mold. He’s developed a lot since the release of his two previous EPs, which caught the attention of Disclosure, and which resultantly lead to Rakei being featured on their Grammy-nominated, highly acclaimed album “Caracal” last year. Beyond that, Rakei has kicked off 2016 on a strong point, having sold out his Australia/New Zealand tour and also his four London shows.

This month, Jordan Rakei continues to stun listeners with his new single “Blame It On the Youth” in preparation for his new album “Cloak”.

“Cloak” is coming out June 3rd, so treat your ears now to Rakei’s new single, which continues to embody his affinity for modern jazz and hip-hop influenced soul.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

“Blame It On the Youth” is a funky mish-mash that puts the spotlight on Rakei’s honey-smooth voice, guided by a switchy beat and the musings of a saxophonist (shoutout to Matt Luff, that saxophone playing is pulling at my heartstrings a little bit!). Overall, “Blame It On the Youth” is low-key enough to have playing in the background, but given a pair of ears, it’s also a stylish song that will get you in the grooves.

It looks like listeners will be in for quite a change of scene in Rakei’s new album. In his new documentary Uncloaked which details the process of making his new album, Rakei says,

“Usually I’m quite shy when I’m showing people my music…but when I play my album, it just speaks for itself because it covers so many sound palets.”

The album itself will encompass a wide range of aspects, with influences including acid-jazz, hip-hop, soul, and RnB. Furthermore, Rakei adds that

“To people that have been following me for the past few years, this album will come as a surprise. You’ve got to take risks, and you’ve got to push yourself as an artist. I’ve definitely pushed some boundaries…”

Looks like listeners will have to brace themselves; “Cloak” will most definitely be a record worth listening to, and it’s coming out this week!

You can listen to “Blame It On The Youth” now via SoundCloud, Spotify, and Apple Music.

‘Cloak’ Tracklist:

1. Midnight Mischief
2. Snitch feat. Remi
3. Blame It On The Youth
4. The Light
5. Talk To Me
6. Still (Interlude)
7. Rooftop
8. Lost Myself
9. Toko feat. Richard Spaven
10. Cupid’s Cheese feat. Ngaiire
11. Theta State
12. Sworn Enemy
13. Tawo

Make sure to stay updated on everything Jordan Rakei via his SoundCloud, Twitter, and

Ruth Jiang
Latest posts by Ruth Jiang (see all)

Leave a Reply