Prince Josh announces new album, shares trip-hop lead single “The Glory”

“The Glory” is taken from Prince Josh‘s new album, Moth, out August 25 via Hand Drawn Dracula.

Toronto’s producer, songwriter and DJ Josh McIntyre, better known as Prince Josh and, amongst others, as one half of Prince Innocence, will release his sophomore album Moth at the end of the summer. Moths go through an incredible transformation during their life, and this insect became a symbol of change and resurrection. While his distinctive dreamy and hazy sound remains present, the record marks a sound shift towards downtempo and trip-hop, as heard on lead single “The Glory”, which features vocalist Lauren Armstrong. For Moth, McIntyre started writing full songs with the intention of ripping them apart to create something new.

“‘The Glory’ is a collaboration between Lauren Armstrong and I,” he explained. “The original concept for the album was to make songs with the intention of resampling them to create new work. “The Glory” is the original version of ‘The Glory (Reprise)’. Both tracks feature the same vocal, however one version is pitched and chopped and the other is the original phrasing. Instead of creating small sections of music to sample, I wanted to make full songs to create a library of sounds to work with. Sections of ‘The Glory’ appear throughout the album.”