Amber Arcades announces sophomore album, shares “Simple Song”

Dutch musician Annelotte De Graaf, aka Amber Arcades, shares the details of her upcoming sophomore album “European Heartbreak”, set for release on September 28 via Heavenly Recordings.

Alongside that announcement, the artist shared the video for “Simple Song”, the second part of a trilogy that started with “Goodnight Europe“. The video was directed by Elliott Arndt who decided with the musician about the story of romantic relationships, the passing time, the current situation in Europe, and how the three of them are actually intertwined. About the concept of the video and the meaning behing the song, Amber Arcades explained:

This music video forms part 2 of a trilogy which tells a modern European (love) story, touching on various thoughts and feelings that inspired my new record. Using the medium of film to tell this story ties it to one of the central ideas of the record, which is the essential nature of storytelling in understanding our lives. For me, part 1 focused very much on a feeling of isolation, being trapped in an external surrounding which feels anxious and numb at the same time. Part 2, the music video for “Simple Song”, translates these feelings into the dynamics of a romantic relationship.

You can check the video by Amber Arcades and also the tracklist of “European Heartbreak” below.

1. Simple Song

2. Hardly Knew

3. Oh My Love (What Have We Done)

4. Goodnight Europe

5. Alpine Town

6. I’ve Done The Best

7. Self-Portrait In A Car At Night

8. Something’s Gonna Take Your Love Away

9. Antoine

10. Where Did You Go

11. Baby, Eternity

Matias Calderon

Leave a Reply