Cakes Da Killa celebrates ballroom scene in new video for “Gon Blow”

Queer rapper Cakes Da Killa celebrates the influence the ballroom scene has on his music in new video for “Gon Blow” featuring Rye Rye.

Taken from his last album “Hedonism” released ealier this year, you can follow the young artist having friends while choreographed animations pace the rhythm. As explained by the artist himself to Vibe:

The track is all about movement, so we [Eric Johnson, animator Ben Marlowe and himself] included some B-roll from a party Eric and I threw. Ben’s animations helped add some dance sequences to the video, because dance culture influences my music a lot, and I feel there is a disconnect between that and rap culture lately.

You can follow Cakes Da Killa over Facebook, Twitter and check his European tour dates below.

Sat Aug 26 Brooklyn – Afropunk Festival
Sun Aug 27 Chicago – Oakwood Beach
Tue Aug 29 Tel Aviv – Gagarin Club
Thu Aug 31 Berlin – YAMM
Fri Sep 1 Sopot – Soundrive Festival
Sat Sep 2 Oslo – Blaa
Mon Sep 4 Copenhagen – Ideal Bar
Wed Sep 6 Malmo – Inknst
Fri Sep 8 London -Jazz Cafe
Sun Sep 10 Dorset – Bestival
Wed Sep 13 Brno – Fleda
Thu Sep 14 Zurich – Exil
Fri Sep 15 Dudingen – Bad Bonn
Sat Sep 16 Paris – Smile Festival
Fri Sep 29 Lincoln – Lincoln Calling Festival
Fri Oct 6 Haverford – Haverford College
Sat Oct 21 Bristol – Simple Things Festival @ SWX Stage
Sat Oct 28 Tromso – Insomnia Festival

Leave a Reply