Grimes shares a video for “Art Angels” two tracks: Flesh without Blood/Life in the Vivid Dream


Grimes started her “Rhinestone Cowgirls Tour” last week in the US to support her upcoming fourth album “Art Angels”. So far, we only know a few things about this LP. But finally, the fog becomes clearer as Grimes announced a release date and shared a video with two songs off the album!

The tracks, which are named “Flesh, Without Blood” and “Life In The Vivid Dream”, are very different and count as the first two acts of Grimes‘ new era. As usual, it is a DIY visual work as Grimes did mostly everything herself from directing to producing. The result is crazy, colorful and schizophrenic! Claire Boucher is interpreting a lot of complex characters like a zombie-cowgirl-angel or a bloody Marie-Antoinette playing tennis with a modern Rococo dress. This is definitely surprising but what else could we expect from Grimes?


Concerning the songs, as we mentioned it, they are very different. “Flesh Without Blood”, which appears to be the lead single, is an uptempo pop song, based on an electric guitar riff where Grimes sings on with her unique way of doing it; fluctuating between “I won’t let you understand what I sing” and “I’m disenchanted but so cool”. Nevertheless, it seems like this path in the direction of mainstream makes her singing more intelligible. As one of our members mentioned it, the track sounds a bit like late Avril Lavigne. Oh sorry, she’s actually still alive. “Life In The Vivid Dream” is a short darker ballad made with a real acoustic guitar.

Here are some of our reactions:
“I don’t like it”
“I do not love it”
“I don’t know if I love it or hate it”
“I think I even prefer her single “Go””

As you can see we are pretty cautious. Nevertheless, the song seems to be infectious and will maybe grow on us.

“Art Angels” will be digitally released on November 6 and then physically on December 11.
Here is the tracklisting that features Janelle Monáe and Aristophanes, a Taiwanese rapper:

01 Laughing and not Being Normal
02 California
03 SCREAM [ft. Aristophanes] 04 Flesh without Blood
05 Belly of the Beat
06 Kill V. Maim
07 Artangels
08 Easily
09 Pin
10 Realiti
11 World Princess part II
12 Venus Fly [ft. Janelle Monáe] 13 Life in the Vivid Dream
14 Butterfly

For our Belgian followers, she will perform at the Ancienne Belgique on March, 3. And of course, the Highclouds Team will be there, dancing with you!
03-03 Brussels, Belgium – AB

Post Author

Comments (1):

Leave a Reply